Skip to main content

Executive Committee

Norman Johnson
Budget & Facilities Committee Chair

Norman ("Norm") Johnson is Professor, and Chair, of the Decision and Information Sciences Department. His expertise is in the areas of decision-making, psychometric analysis, data mining, and predictive analytics. He has been involved in teaching and research in these and other areas for over a decade. In applied research and practice, he focuses on developing predictive models that are based on numeric and textual data. Norm's academic research focuses on computer-mediated negotiations and human behaviors. His research appears in several leading journals such as MIS Quarterly, Journal of Management Information Systems; Decision Support Systems, European Journal of Information Systems, Information Systems Journal, among others. Prior to his career in academia, Norm was as an Assistant Actuary who developed pricing models and valued pension funds. Currently, in practice, Dr. Johnson is a senior advisor on Data Analytics to companies in several industries.

Research Interests

·                    Communication Media and Negotiation

·                    Psychometric Analysis

·                    Affect and Virtual Worlds

·                    Structured and Unstructured Data Analytics.

Fleurette Fernando
Community & Government Relations Committee Chair

Fleurette S. Fernando is the Founding Director of the MA in Arts Leadership Program at The University of Houston where she also serves as Instructional Assistant Professor and as Chair of the Community and Government Relations Committee of the UH Faculty Senate. Fleurette is a graduate of Claude Watson School for the Arts, Toronto, a graduate of the National Theatre School of Canada's Directing Program, Montreal, and holds an MFA degree in Theatre Directing from York University. Fleurette served as Artistic Director of Montreal's Black Theatre Workshop and was the recipient of the Canada Council for the Arts' first John Hirsch Prize for Young Directors and a Fellowship of the Americas from the Kennedy Center for Performing Arts for her work on original play development in Canada. Fleurette has worked as a writer, director, dramaturge, choreographer, educator and arts administrator in organizations across Canada and the US including Mirvish Productions, Lorraine Hansberry Theatre, East Bay Center for the Performing Arts and Brooklyn Academy of Music. Fleurette was a participant in London’s Royal Court Theatre’s International Residency for Playwrights and Directors and served as Executive Director of Katy Visual and Performing Arts Center. Most recently she served as Director of Grants for Houston Arts Alliance, the designated arts agency for the City of Houston. Fleurette currently serves on the board of Midtown Arts and Theatre Center Houston (MATCH) and the Association of Arts Administration Educators (AAAE). In 2018, Fleurette received a Teaching Excellence Award from UH for her work in community engagement.

Paul Butler
Faculty Affairs Committee Chair

Paul Butler specializes in the study of style in Rhetoric and Composition. He is the author of The Writer’s Style, Out of Style, and Style in Rhetoric and Composition. He is co-editor of Style and the Future of Composition Studies (in press). His current monograph project is Style and the New Writing Literacies. Paul earned degrees in French at Colorado College and Middlebury College (BA, MA); in Composition and Cultural Rhetoric at Syracuse University (PhD); and in Law and English at the University of Colorado, Boulder (JD, MA).

Steve Werner
Faculty Governance Committee Chair

Steve Werner is Professor of Management and Chair of the Management Department. He received his Ph.D. in Human Resource Management from the University of Florida. His research focuses on various human resource management issues, particularly compensation and international HRM. He has published in academic and practitioner publications such as Academy of Management JournalJournal of Applied PsychologyJournal of International Business StudiesJournal of ManagementInternational Journal of Human Resource Management, Journal of Management Studies, Organizational Research Methods Journal of Business ResearchHuman RelationsHuman Resource Management ReviewJournal of International ManagementBritish Journal of ManagementInternational Business ReviewJournal of Business EthicsJournal of Applied Social PsychologyWorldatwork  JournalACA JournalCompensation and Benefits Review and the Columbia Journal of World Business, among others. He has served as an elected member of the Executive Committee of the Human Resource Division of the Academy of Management. He is on the editorial boards of The Journal of Management, Human Resource Management Journal, The International Journal of Human Resource Management, and Human Resource Management Review.

Dr. Werner has taught courses at the undergraduate, masters, or doctoral level in compensation administration, compensation system design, human resource management, organizational power and politics, international human resource management, industrial relations, research methods in management, and international management. Dr. Werner's comments have appeared in The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Houston Chronicle, DBA Houston Magazine, ESPN Magazine, and in the Houston Business Journal, among others. He has been a consultant to a number of larger and smaller firms and organizations on various aspects of compensation and human resource management. His clients include KMPG, Conoco, and the State of Texas. He has also advised a number of compensation consulting firms, and has been an expert witness. He is a member of the Academy of Management, Society for Human Resource Management, and the Academy of International Business.

George Zouridakis
Graduate & Professional Studies Committee Chair

George Zouridakis is the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies in the College of Technology, with degrees in Computer (Dr.Ing.), Biomedical (M.S.), and Electrical Engineering (Ph.D.), and clinical training in neurophysiological procedures. After seven years with UT Medical School, he joined UH as the founding Director of the Biomedical Imaging Lab. He is the Chair of the Research Committee of the Borders, Trade, and Immigration Institute, a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence, and past Chair of the Houston Chapter of IEEE BMES. His service with international organizations includes positions as Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, Neuropsychiatry Electrophysiology, and Transactions on Information Technology. His research has been recognized by 14 research awards, including the Inventor Patent Award, Entrepreneurship Award, Fluor Faculty Research Excellence Award, Fluor Service Award, the Provost’s Excellence Certificate, and his elevation to Senior Member of IEEE.